TGMForum
millets

Recent Posts

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1,966
  • Total Topics: 754
  • Online today: 59
  • Online ever: 275 (January 22, 2020, 07:39:54 PM)
Users Online
  • Users: 0
  • Guests: 47
  • Total: 47

Lawn mower not starting after cord fix

Started by Paul123, June 07, 2023, 08:05:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul123

Hi,

Looking for some advice, I'm a complete amateur at this sort of stuff. I have a fairly old rover push lawn mower, not sure of model name but it's a briggs Stratton engine. It was in storage for a few years but was recently brought out, serviced and was running perfect. Today the pull cord broke off the handle and the cord disappeared inside the starter. So I removed the covers around the starter and was able to pull the cord out and re attach to the handle, and then reassembled everything. But it wouldn't start. The engine is turning over fine and has plenty of fuel but won't start. I let it sit for 20 minutes incase it was flooded, no luck.

So it went from running perfect to won't start in the space of 10 mins. Any ideas what the issue could be?

Thanks!

Mick

Hi Paul, and welcome to TGMF.

I can only at this point assume you might have trapped the HT lead when refitting the cowling, or maybe the cowling is touching the stop wire if it has one on the side of the engine.

Some images of what you have would be handy if you can.  ;)
My websites
TGMForum Youtube Channel Please subscribe https://www.youtube.com/@TGMForum
Guitarist Guild

Paul123

Thanks for the reply Mick. I had another look at it and the HT lead seems fine, it wasn't touched. I'm not sure where a stop wire would be? I have attached a few pictures, hope that helps:

Removed few bolts on black cover and moved to the side:
IMG_4948 2.HEIC

Another few bolts and this came off which had the starter in it:
IMG_4951 2.HEIC 

Front of mower with ht lead
IMG_4958 2.HEIC

IMG_4956.HEIC